Woher wissen wir, wann wir unsere Tests beenden sollten?

Die Software-Qualitätssicherung strebt nach Perfektion, aber sie zu erreichen ist nicht nur kaum möglich, sondern selten machbar. Also, wann hört man eine Software-Testing auf? Finden Sie heraus und erhalten Sie eine Checkliste unten

when to stop testing

Ist das Pareto-Prinzip gut genug?

Vor allem für nicht an der Qualitätssicherung Beteiligte mag es verlockend sein, einfach das gute alte Pareto-Prinzip anzuwenden. Demnach würde das Testen von Software bereits bei 20 % des Prozesses eingestellt, da man zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits 80 % der Probleme gefunden haben müsste.

Leider sind die Dinge nicht so einfach. Je nach Branche kann es einfach zu viele (potenziell) kritische Probleme geben, um den QS-Aufwand um 80 % zu reduzieren. Es mag verlockend sein, die Kosten zu senken und Funktionen schneller freizugeben, aber das Testen von Banksoftware setzt voraus, dass alles, was auch nur im Entferntesten unsicher ist, erkannt wird. Dann ist da noch die Sache mit der Regression. Man kann die Entwickler nicht einfach eine Runde von Korrekturen durchführen lassen und darauf vertrauen, dass sie keine neuen Fehler verursacht haben.

Auch wenn die 80/20-Regel nicht auf die Software-Qualitätssicherung angewandt werden kann, ist es dennoch notwendig, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen den Ressourcen und dem Ergebnis herzustellen – hoffentlich ein relativ fehlerfreies Softwareprodukt. Wie macht man das in der Qualitätssicherung? Die Antwort ist das Hinzufügen von Ausstiegskriterien in den Testplan.

Definition von Ausstiegskriterien

Ausstiegskriterien in einem Testplan leiten Sie wie bei einer Checkliste. So wie das Fehlen von besonders wichtigen und/oder geliebten Produkten dazu führt, dass man in den Lebensmittelladen geht, ist das Erreichen aller Ausstiegskriterien ein Stoppzeitpunkt beim Testen von Software. Schauen wir uns einige von ihnen an.

testing exit points

Zeit

Irgendwann ist es an der Zeit, mit dem Testen aufzuhören. Die moderne agile Entwicklung wird durch sehr kurze Iterationen vorangetrieben, was bedeutet, dass Sie einen festen Termin haben, der nicht verschoben werden kann. Ja, eine Funktion, die noch zu unfertig ist, um in Produktion zu gehen, wird verschoben. Was die Sprintplanung betrifft, so müssen Sie die Qualitätssicherungsbemühungen vorerst noch einstellen.

Test-Budget

Das ist das einfachste Ausstiegskriterium für Systemtests. Wenn Sie nicht die Mittel haben, um weiterzumachen, müssen Sie sich mit den Problemen begnügen, die das QS-Team bisher gefunden hat.

Abdeckung der Anforderungen

Es ist eine Sache, die Qualitätssicherungsarbeit abzubrechen, weil man nicht die Zeit hatte, alles gründlich genug durchzugehen. Wir haben erörtert, warum dies unumgänglich und sinnvoll ist. Auf der anderen Seite sollten Ihre Bemühungen umfassend genug sein, um zumindest eine Vorstellung davon zu haben, wie alle wichtigen Softwarekomponenten funktionieren.

Testabdeckung

Anders als bei der Bedarfsdeckung ist es nicht notwendig, die 100 %-Marke zu erreichen. Dennoch sollte die absolute Mehrheit des Codes, der für die Produktion vorgesehen ist, mit Testfällen abgedeckt werden, vorzugsweise in Form von Testszenarien, um die Qualitätssicherung zu erleichtern. Auch automatisierte Testwerkzeuge oder Lösungen, die Sie bei der Verwaltung unterstützen, wie z. B. aqua, sind eine große Hilfe.

Schweregrad des Fehlers

Verschiedene Unternehmen verwenden unterschiedliche Skalen für die Bewertung von Fehlern. Es gibt auch eine große Diskussion über den umgangssprachlichen Unterschied zwischen Schweregrad und Priorität und den faktischen Unterschied. Für die Zwecke dieses Artikels wollen wir die folgende Klassifizierung der Fehlerschwere verwenden:

Schweregrad des Fehlers

1

Kritische Fehler

2

Hauptfehler

3

Nebenfehler

4

Gerinfügiger Fehler

Wann sollte man also aufhören zu testen? Ganz einfach, wenn Sie alle kritischen Fehler und Hauptfehler behoben haben. Es gibt sowohl in der Softwareentwicklung als auch in den Kundenbeziehungen Gründe, die neue Version Ihres Produkts nicht instabiler zu machen als die vorherige. Wenn Sie alle Fehler der zwei höchsten Schweregrade beheben, schaffen Sie das.

Weitere Kennziffern

Qualitätssicherungsteams verfolgen eine Vielzahl von Kennziffern, um den Zustand des Produkts, den Fortschritt bei der bevorstehenden Veröffentlichung sowie die allgemeine Produktivität und den Erfolg des Teams zu analysieren. Diese Kennziffern können auch verwendet werden, um Kriterien für die Beendigung der Tests zu definieren.

  • Schwellenwert für offene Fehler (beliebiger Schweregrad)
  • Fehlerquote in Prozent
  • Quote Bestanden/Nicht bestanden von Testfällen

Erfolgreiche Funktionstests

Obwohl die Erfolgsquote der Testfälle nicht 100 % betragen muss, sollten alle Funktionstests grün sein, bevor eine neue Version des Produkts in Betrieb genommen wird. Es spielt keine Rolle, ob etwas ein wenig schiefgegangen ist, denn dafür sind Nebenfehler und geringfügige Fehler gedacht. Die Schlüsselfunktionen sollten jedoch weiterhin funktionieren, auch wenn die Benutzerszenarien nicht funktionieren.

Ein gutes Beispiel hierfür ist die Qualitätsprüfung im Versicherungswesen. Eines der primären Versicherungsmodelle bedeutet eine automatische Deckung in den Partnerkliniken, wobei die Dokumentation durch eine Gesundheitseinrichtung erfolgt und kein Geld ausgetauscht wird. Es gibt auch Leistungen, die bei Nicht-Partner-Kliniken eine teilweise oder vollständige Kostenerstattung vorsehen, bei denen der Kunde einen Versicherungsantrag stellen muss.

Die Einreichung von Versicherungsansprüchen ist eine Schlüsselfunktion der Software von Versicherungsunternehmen, und Sie können keine neue Version veröffentlichen, wenn die Kunden damit keine Erstattung beantragen kann. Ihre QS-Spezialisten könnten jedoch feststellen, dass die App die Antragsdaten nicht auf der Grundlage des Fotos einer Rechnung ausfüllt, der Benutzer kann aber trotzdem alles manuell eingeben und den Antrag absenden.

Entscheidung Go/No Go

Zu guter Letzt gibt es eine „Go/No Go“ Besprechung. Die Techniker entscheiden, ob Sie die neue Version freigeben können. Wenn die vorangegangenen Ausstiegskriterien darauf hindeuten, dass die QS ihre Aufgaben erledigt hat, ist das der Zeitpunkt, an dem Sie aufhören.

Checkliste für die Beendigung der Tests

Hier sind Beispiele für Ausstiegskriterien. Sie können gerne Kriterien ausschließen, weitere hinzufügen oder Werte ändern:
time to stop software testing

Zum Thema passende Artikel

Fällt es Ihnen schwer, Ihre Qualitätssicherung mit dem Tempo und den Arbeitsabläufen Ihrer Entwicklung in…

photo
Denis Matusovskiy
17 mins read

Das Testen der Benutzeroberfläche ist wohl der wirkungsvollste Typ des Testens, jedenfalls für B2C-Unternehmen. Es…

photo
Robert Weingartz
11 mins read

In der schnelllebigen Zeit, in der wir leben, bedeuten langsame oder bröckelnde Websites und Anwendungen…

photo
Denis Matusovskiy
9 mins read

How to know when we should stop our testing
Best practices
8 mins read
December 8, 2023

How to know when we should stop our testing?

Software QA strives for perfection, but reaching it is not just hardly possible, but rarely feasible. So when to stop software testing? Find out and even get a checklist below.

photo
Denis Matusovskiy

Is the Pareto Principle good enough?

Especially for non-QA stakeholders, it might be tempting to simply apply the good old Pareto Principle. It would mean that software testing should be stopped as early as 20% into the process, as you must have found 80% of the issues by that point. That would sure save quite a lot of money and speed up releases, right?

Unfortunately, things are not as simple as that. Depending on the industry, there may be simply too many (potential) critical issues to cut QA effort by 80%. Reducing expenses and releasing features faster might be tempting, but banking software testing implies catching anything remotely unsecure. Then there is a separate matter of regression: you can’t just let devs do one round of fixes and trust it didn’t cause some new bugs. Alas, the Pareto Principle is too lean for software QA.

Even though the 80/20 rule can’t be applied to software QA, there is still a need to balance resources and outcome — hopefully, a relatively issue-free software product. How do you do that in QA? The answer is adding exit criteria in testing plan.

Want to dive a bit deeper into this? Our latest video could be just the thing for you.

Defining text exit criteria

The purpose of exit criteria in a test plan is to guide you as a checklist would. Just like the lack of particularly vital and/or loved products makes you go to the grocery store, reaching all exit criteria is a stop time in testing of software. Let’s look at some of them.

testing exit points

Time

There comes a time when it’s time to stop testing. Modern Agile development is fueled by very short iterations, which means you have a fixed deadline that can’t be moved. Yes, a feature that is still too raw to go to production will be postponed. As far as sprint planning goes, you will still have to stop the quality assurance effort it for now.

Test Budget

This is the simplest exit criteria for system testing. If you don’t have the means to carry on, you will have to be content with what issues the QA team found so far.

Requirements coverage

It’s one thing to stop the QA work because you didn’t have the time to go deep enough through absolutely everything. We have discussed why it is unavoidable and makes sense to do. On the other hand, your effort should be wide enough to at least have an idea of how all key pieces of software are performing. Achieving full requirements coverage is a good reason to move on.

Test coverage

Unlike requirements coverage, there’s no need to push for the 100% mark. Still, the absolute majority of code that is planned to go into production should be covered with test cases, preferably wrapped into test scenarios for smoother quality assurance. Automated testing tools or solutions that help you manage them, such as aqua, are a great help as well.

Defect severity

Different companies use different scales at which they grade defects. There is also an entirely separate conversation about the colloquial vs factual difference between severity and priority. For the purposes of this article, let’s go with the following classification of defect severity:

Defect Severity

1

Critical

2

Major

3

Minor

4

Low

So, when to stop testing? Simple: when you fixed all Critical and Major defects. There are both software development and client relation reasons not to make the new version of your product more unstable than the previous one. Resolving all defects of the two highest severity types gives you that.

If you are looking for more QA strategy input, look no further than template. We applied 20 years of our experience in QA to create a simple, easy-to-tailor template that breaks down defect handling and much more. 

image
3zbdcc601729bfa1d4e33335cfb5176b61c737a68bafd4b4a38a8ef653a7771392
testing strategy template

Get a testing strategy template that enables us to release 2 times faster

Further metrics

Quality Assurance teams track a lot of metrics to analyse the state of the product, their progress on the upcoming release, and the general productivity and success of the team. These metrics can also be used to define testing exit criteria as well. Some of them include:

  • Threshold of open defects (any severity)
  • Defect rate percentage
  • Test case pass/failure rate

Functional testing success

Although the test case pass rate is not required to be 100%, all functional tests should be green before a new version of the product goes live. It doesn’t matter whether some things are a bit wonky, since that’s what Minor and Low severity defects are for. All key features, however, still should work — even if not user scenarios do.

A good example here would be QA testing in Insurance. One of the primary insurance models means automatic coverage at partner clinics with documentation handled by a health facility and no actual money exchanging hands. There are also plans that provide partial or full reimbursement at non-partner clinics when the client has to file an insurance claim.

Filing an insurance claim is a key function of insurance companies software, and you can’t release a new version if clients can’t apply for reimbursement. Your QA specialists, however, could learn that the app fails to fill out claim data based on the photo of a bill, but users can still enter everything manually and send the claim. As long as the key functionality — actually sending the claim and getting reimbursed — is still present, your team can release a new version of the software.

Go / No Go meeting

Last but not least, there’s a Go / No Go meeting where all the tech people decide whether you’re ready to release the new version. If the previous exit criteria indicate that things are ready on the QA side, that’s when you stop.

Test Exit Criteria Checklist

Here are sample exit criteria — feel free to exclude some, add more, or change values:time to stop software testing

Conclusion

Test exit criteria help you find the right balance between covering requirements and not overextending your effort. Use the ideas above, apply your product’s specific needs, and consider regulatory requirements to define exit criteria that suit.

One way to not spend too much time on QA is artificial intelligence. aqua’s AI copilot can make entire tests to quickly cover edge cases and/or push for near-100% test coverage. The test case management functionality in aqua is great for any degree of AI integration, too.

AI testing to go from feasible to maximum test coverage

Try aqua
On this page:
See more
Speed up your releases x2 with aqua
Start for free
step
FAQ
When to stop testing?

The decision to stop testing should be based on a risk management assessment and should be made in collaboration with stakeholders.

What are the main steps of testing?

The main steps of testing are:

  • Planning: Determine the scope, objectives, and approach for testing.
  • Design: Develop test cases and test plans based on the requirements and objectives.
  • Execution: Run the tests and record the results.
  • Evaluation: Analyse the test results and determine if the requirements have been met.Reporting: Document the results and share them with relevant stakeholders.
  • Maintenance: Regularly update and maintain the test cases and test plans to reflect changes in the software.
What is the final step in software testing?

The final step in software testing is typically the closure of the testing phase, which includes activities such as documenting the results, fixing any remaining issues, and formally accepting the software. This is followed by maintenance and support activities, which may involve further testing and quality assurance processes.

closed icon